Skip to main content

Student media honoured at 2017 Emerge Media Awards

EMAs attendees mingling

Students from around the country flew in to attend the most competitive Emerge Media Awards yet, as the finest work from Canadian journalism and communications students was honoured with an elegant gala at Toronto’s Rose Garden Banquet Hall & Convention Centre.

Though the awards are administered by the University of Guelph-Humber and the event is planned and executed by diligent UofGH Media Studies students, winners of the Emerge Media Awards are selected by an independent panel of judges. This year, those judges included the prominent likes of Star Metro Media Editorial Director Sarah Moore, award-winning former CBC journalist Robert Fisher and Toronto Star photojournalist Randy Risling.

They had plenty of work to consider. In only their third year, the Emerge Media Awards attracted 315 submissions from 32 colleges and universities, essentially doubling last year’s submissions.

“Excellence in communication is more important than ever, and I am extremely proud that we along with our media industry partners have been able to recognize outstanding work in the next generation of media storytellers,” said Media Studies Program Head Jerry Chomyn.

Jerry Chomyn addresses EMA audience

Congratulations to all the following winners at the 2017 Emerge Media Awards:

Written Word

Winner: Lucas Provencher, MacEwan University, “Point and Shoot

Runner-up: Cherise Seucharan, University of British Columbia,Two Meals a Day: Living on Disability Assistance in Vancouver

Audio Storytelling

Winner: Clare Bonnyman, Humber College, “The Story of Studio 212

Runner-up: Sean Towgood, Tevin Guthrie and Chris Wheeler, Humber College, Stigma

Design – Online News Site or Magazine

Winner: The Sheridan Sun, Sheridan College

Runner-up: The Varsity, University of Toronto

Design – Print Magazine Cover or Spread

Winner: Scott Rigmond, Fanshawe College, “Alba Gu Brath (Scotland the Brave)

Runner-up: Lauren Gorfinkel and Jason Lau, McMaster University, Incite Magazine: Vol. 19, Issue 2 (Imperfection)

Multimedia Production

Winner: Ryan Thorpe, John Hopkins-Hill, Alex Yorke, Harley Davidson, Kathleen Driscoll, Melanie Ross, Megan Beam, Hugo Garcia and Leighia Chaptman-Klassen, Niagara College, “Crisis on Campus

Runner-up: Richa Syal and Jacqueline McKay, Ryerson University, “How Accessible is Ryerson?


Winner: Ans Li, McMaster University, “More

Runner-up: Cody Bonner, Mohawk College, “Unzipped

Public Relations

Winner: Naeema Bawa, Dylan Mainprize, Kim Maunder, Kayla Da Silva and Ashley Taylor, McMaster University, Ralphy’s Retreat Strategic Communications Plan

Runner-up: Cianna Wilkinson, Sheridan College, “Canada’s Bright Idea


Winner: Lauren Macgill, Rachel Carlson, Kerri Savard and Jeff Schultz, Red River College, “Beauty in Focus

Runner-up: Naseem Loloie, Queen’s University, Belly Up

Learn more about Media Studies at the University of Guelph-Humber.

Learn more about the Emerge Media Awards.

Emerge signEmerge attendeesRefreshments

EMAs hostEMAs speakerEMAs gathering

EMAs winnerEMA winner accepts awardEMAs speaker